Sync

DEVONthink allows you to keep your databases in sync with multiple Macs and iOS devices running DEVONthink To Go. Set up your sync location, choose which databases are synced, and how often they're synced.

Locations

The Locations column lists all available sync locations, whether these are the built-in options, ones you've added yourself, or ones detected on your network, e.g., WebDAV services. Activate or disable sync locations via its checkbox. Inactive or inaccessible locations are shown in grey. And if a sync location is using encryption, will appear to the right of the name.

Use the buttons below the Locations list for more options:

The Locations Action menu also is used for information, troubleshooting, and removing chosen sync locations.

Sync Location Options

When setting up a sync location or editing the options on an existing one, you will see some of these options in the Info popup for the location. The options shown are dependent on the specific sync method:

Databases

With a sync location selected, the Databases column lists all currently open databases as well as all databases available remotely in the selected location. The Local section lists all open databases and a message about their sync status, e.g, the timestamp of the last sync. The Remote section lists all databases available for import or currently not open on the machine. When attempting to import the latter, the local database will be opened by DEVONthink.

Start and stop syncing a specific database to the selected location. Uncheck databases you want to discontinue syncing with the selected location, but be aware this does not remove the sync data. See the Clean Database command below.

Use the buttons below the Databases list for more options:

The Databases Action menu also contains commands for importing, manually synchronzing, troubleshooting, and removing sync data.

Sync messages: Under each listed database in the Databases list, is a message about its sync state. You will see one of these:

Sync Options

Sync Options: The settings at the bottom of the pane control the behavior for all active sync locations, from how often to sync to how sync conflicts are handled.

Bonjour Options

Click the button Bonjour Options to control if and how other instances of DEVONthink or DEVONthink To Go can connect to your Mac. Your Mac becomes the sync server, the other devices the clients.

Read more about synchronization